A lot of people ask us “Why do you call yourself gelato? Aren’t you vegan?” Well, we say “Good question!”
First– you’ve got to understand the difference between gelato and ice cream. Traditional dairy-based gelato differs from ice cream because it’s made out of milk, rather than cream. This makes gelato richer and more intensely flavorful than ice cream (there’s a good reason for eating it with a tiny spoon!),whereas ice cream tends to have more air incorporated into it, making it fluffier and milder in taste.
When it comes to dairy-free gelato and ice cream, there are a huge variety of replacements for either milk or cream, depending on the desired texture and flavor profile.
Leave behind worries about too much sugar in your treats.
Nubocha is the only gelato made with allulose – a rare sugar found in figs and maple syrup. It’s so low on the glycemic index that your body won’t recognize it as a carb, so it won’t spike your blood sugar. It's the perfect partner for our keto treat.
By comparison, many of our dairy-free competitors use fatty oils and other fillers like coconut cream or nut milks to attempt to mimic the texture of traditional ice cream, resulting in an ingredient list that takes up half the container! By keeping our ingredient list small, we highlight the best qualities of our ingredients – and you can taste each carefully-selected ingredient as a result.